REINVESTMENT ZONE NO. 3 (DOWNTOWN) BOARD

One (1) vacancy with the term ending 02-28-2027, representing the following category: 1 - City. Historically, Council Members have been appointed to the board. REAPPOINTMENTS: Council Members Everett Roy

Duties

The Reinvestment Zone No. 3 Board shall make recommendations to the City Council concerning the administration of the zone. (The zone area includes approximately 856 acres encompassing the City's Downtown area along the Bayfront from the SEA-Town complex at the north end, south to Morgan Avenue adjacent to the Christus Spohn Shoreline Hospital, and west to Tancahua Street.) The Board shall prepare and adopt a project plan and reinvestment zone financing plan for the zone and submit such plans to the City Council for its approval in accordance with Section 311.011, Texas Tax Code. The Board shall exercise other powers and responsibilities with respect to the zone only to the extent expressly granted by the City Council by ordinance or resolution.

Composition

The Board shall consist of twelve (12) members. The members shall be appointed as follows: Pursuant to Sec. 311.009(a), Tax Code, the respective governing bodies of each taxing unit other than the City that levies taxes on real property in the zone, if the taxing unit has approved the payment of all or part of the tax increment produced by the unit into the tax increment fund for the zone, may appoint one (1) member of the Board. These entities include: Del Mar College and Nueces County. Each governing body may waive its right to appoint a Director. The remaining members of the board are appointed by the City Council. The City Council shall have the right to appoint at least ten (10) members, with one reserved for a representative from the Downtown Management District, and the board may exceed twelve (12) members if necessary for the City Council to make said ten (10) appointments. To be eligible for appointment an individual must be a qualified voter of the City; or be at least 18 years of age or older and own real property in the zone. Terms of Board members are for two years. Terms must be staggered with half of the Board members appointed every year. Officers must be appointed as provided in the Act. Each year the governing body of the municipality or county that created the zone shall appoint one member of the board to serve as Chairman for a term of one-year that begins on January 1 of the following year. The Board of Directors may elect a Vice-Chairman to preside in the absence of the Chairman or when there is a vacancy in the office of the Chairman. The board may elect other officers as it considers appropriate.

Creation/AuthorityOrd. No. 027996, 12/16/08; Ord. No. 028136, 04/28/09; Ord. No. 029403, 3/2/12; and Ord. No. 030286, 9/16/14.

MeetsMember sizeTerm length/limitStaff liaison4th Tuesday of the month at 9:30 a.m.,122 years / N/AJoe EscobarCouncil Chambers.

Name	Term	Appt. date	End date	Appointing Authority	Position	Status	Category
Everett Roy	1	1/10/2023	2/28/2025	City Council	Chair	Active	City
Sylvia Campos	1	1/10/2023	2/28/2026	City Council		Active	City
Rudy Garza Jr.	1	2/14/2023	2/28/2026	Del Mar College		Active	Del Mar
Mark Scott	1	1/14/2025	2/28/2026	City Council		Active	City
Eric J Cantu	1	1/14/2025	2/28/2026	City Council		Active	City
Connie Scott	2	2/8/2023	2/28/2026	Nueces County		Active	Nueces County
							Downtown Management
James Sedwick	3	3/24/2020	2/28/2026	City Council		Active	District

Name	Term	Appt. date	End date	Appointing Authority	Position	Status	Category
Carolyn Vaughn	1	1/14/2025	2/28/2027	City Council		Active	City
Paulette Guajardo	5	12/20/2016	2/28/2027	City Council		Active	City
Kaylynn J Paxson	1	1/14/2025	2/28/2027	City Council		Active	City
Gil Hernandez	4	1/15/2019	2/28/2027	City Council		Active	City
Roland Barrera	4	1/15/2019	2/28/2027	City Council		Active	City