AIRPORT ZONING COMMISSION

Two (2) vacancies with terms to 7-31-2023 and 7-31-2024 (The members serve three-year staggered terms coterminous with the term each member serves on the Planning Commission).

Duties

The Airport Zoning Commission shall preserve, protect, and maintain the importance of the operations of the Corpus Christi International Airport and of the military flight training mission of Naval Air Station Corpus Christi.

Composition

The Airport Zoning Commission (Commission) shall be composed of the same nine registered voters who are members of the City's duly appointed Planning Commission. The members shall serve staggered terms of three years coterminous with the term each member serves on the Planning Commission. Any vacancy in an unexpired term on the Commission shall be filled for the remainder of the term, by appointment of the City Council, by the same Planning Commission member appointed to fill the vacancy on the Planning Commission. The Commission members shall elect a Chairperson and a Vice-Chairperson from among its membership at the first regular meeting, who shall serve until August; the members shall then elect a new Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson annually at the first meeting held each August. In addition to the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson, the Commission may provide for the selection of such other Officers from among its membership as it deems proper. The Director of the Corpus Christi International Airport and the Director of the Environmental and Strategic Initiatives Department of the City of Corpus Christi, or their designees, shall be entitled to attend all meetings and sessions of the Commission, but shall have no vote in matters acted upon by the Commission. A naval representative of Naval Air Station Corpus Christi shall be entitled to attend all meetings and sessions of the Commission, but shall have no vote in matters acted upon by the Commission.

Creation / Authority	Meets	Member size	Term length / limit	Liaison
Section 241.002 of the Texas Local	Date and time of meetings to be determined	9	3 years / 6 years	Ruth Bocchino

Name	District	Term	Appt. date	End date	Appointing Authority	Position	Status	Category
Javier O. Gonzalez	District 5	1	7/21/2020	7/31/2023	City Council		Resigned	
Sheldon Schroeder	District 4	2	3/21/2017	7/31/2024	City Council		Resigned	
Cynthia S. Garza	District 1	1	7/21/2020	7/31/2023	City Council		Active	
Brian S. Mandel	District 5	1	7/21/2020	7/31/2023	City Council		Active	
Michael M. Miller	District 2	1	7/16/2019	7/31/2024	City Council	Vice-Chair	Active	
Kamran Zarghouni	District 5	2	7/17/2018	7/31/2024	City Council	Chair	Active	
Jahvid R. Motaghi	District 2	1	7/19/2021	7/31/2025	City Council		Active	
Mike A. Munoz	District 2	1	3/8/2022	7/31/2025	City Council		Active	
Michael C. York	District 4	2	8/1/2019	7/31/2025	City Council		Active	
						Ex-Officio, Non-		Navy
Benjamin Polak		1	N/A	N/A	United States Navy	voting	Active	Representative