## RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING PARTICIPATION AS A TEXAS MAIN STREET URBAN CITY AND DESIGNATING CITY PARTICIPATION

**WHEREAS**: The Texas Main Street Urban Program of the Texas Historical Commission has been authorized to assist historic commercial areas in cities with population of 50,001 people or greater to develop a public/private effort to revitalize their target areas. If selected, this historic urban commercial area will begin participation as a Texas Main Street Urban Program in January 2016.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS:

Being in the public interest of the City of Corpus Christi to support the development and diversification of the economy of this City as will be accomplished by membership in the Texas Main Street Urban Program, the City agrees and authorizes

SECTION 1. That the City of Corpus Christi be a co-applicant with the Downtown Management District in application for selection to participate in the 2016 Texas Main Street Urban Program with the specific goal of revitalizing a targeted business district within the context of the preservation and rehabilitation of its historic buildings;

SECTION 2. That the City of Corpus Christi will provide financial support to the Urban program for staffing, professional development and operations/administration, through direct or indirect City funding;

SECTION 3. That the City of Corpus Christi understands that downtown revitalization is a long-term effort and that the initial commitment for a Texas Main Street Urban Program is participation for a minimum of five (5) years;

SECTION 4. That the City of Corpus Christi will contract with the Downtown Management District to co-sponsor the Main Street Urban Program; and

SECTION 5. That the Business Liaison be designated to coordinate the Program on behalf of the City and serve as the principal contact in relation to matters involving the City.

ATTEST:	THE CITY OF CORPUS CHRISTI
Rebecca Huerta	Nelda Martinez
City Secretary	Mayor

Corpus Christi, Texas	
,,	
The above resolution was passed by the following vote:	
Nelda Martinez	
Rudy Garza	
Chad Magill	
Colleen McIntyre	
Lillian Riojas	
Brian Rosas	
Lucy Rubio	
Mark Scott	
Carolyn Vaughn	