## ORDINANCE

APPOINTING YOUNG MIN BURKETT, JACQUELINE DEL LLANO CHAPA, RAY A. GONZALEZ, GAIL LOEB, PATRICK O' HARE, AND MIKE JAMES ALANIZ AS MUNICIPAL JUDGES OF THE MUNICIPAL COURT OF RECORD IN THE CITY OF CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS; APPOINTING GAIL LOEB AS THE PRESIDING JUDGE; APPOINTING JERRY L. BATEK, ROBERT BRUNKENHOEFER, CHRISTOPHER E. MATT, MICHAEL MCCAIG, TODD A. ROBINSON, AND DAVID WALSH AS PART-TIME JUDGES OF THE MUNICIPAL COURT OF RECORD IN THE CITY OF CORPUS CHRISTI; DETERMINING SALARY; PROVIDING A TERM OF OFFICE; AND DECLARING AN EFFECTIVE DATE

WHEREAS, pursuant to Corpus Christi Code Sec. 29-4, the city council shall appoint municipal judges, as deemed necessary for the benefit and conduct of the court. Each judge shall be appointed by the city council and shall hold office for a two-year term coterminous with the term of the appointing city council unless sooner removed or until the successor, if any, is appointed; and

**WHEREAS**, in continuation of the April 2016 City Policy amendment to phase out car allowances, municipal judges will not be eligible for car allowances.

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS, THAT:

**SECTION 1.** That Young Min Burkett, Jacqueline Del Llano Chapa, Ray A. Gonzalez, Gail Loeb, Patrick O' Hare, and Mike James Alaniz are appointed as Municipal Judges of the Municipal Court of Record in the City of Corpus Christi, Texas.

**SECTION 2.** That Gail Loeb is appointed as Presiding Judge of the Municipal Court of Record in the City of Corpus Christi, Texas.

**SECTION 3.** That each person appointed to the full-time municipal judge position shall receive the fixed salary of \$97,935 within Grade 335 of the City of Corpus Christi's Employee Compensation and Classification System, with the exception of the person appointed as Presiding Judge, who shall receive the fixed salary of \$114,069 within Grade 334 of the City of Corpus Christi's Employee Compensation and Classification System.

**SECTION 4.** That each person appointed as Municipal Judge of the Municipal Court of Record will not be entitled to a car allowance.

**SECTION 5.** That Jerry L. Batek, Robert Brunkenhoefer, Christopher E. Matt, Michael McCaig, Todd A. Robinson, and David Walsh are appointed as Part-Time Judges of the Municipal Court of Record in the City of Corpus Christi, Texas.

**SECTION 6.** That each person appointed to the part-time municipal judge position shall receive an hourly rate of \$45.35 per hour, within Grade 140 of the City of Corpus Christi's Employee Compensation and Classification System, with the exception of Robert Brunkenhoefer and Michael McCaig, who shall receive an hourly rate of \$44.25 per hour,

within Grade 140 of the City of Corpus Christi's Employee Compensation and Classification System.

**SECTION 7.** That each judge shall hold office for a term coterminous with the term of the appointing City Council unless sooner removed or until the successor, if any, is appointed.

SECTION 8. This ordinance takes effect upon passage on second reading.

That the foregoing ordinance was read for the first time and passed to its second reading on this the \_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_, 2017, by the following vote:

Mayor	 Ben Molina	
Rudy Garza	 Lucy Rubio	
Paulette Guajardo	 Greg Smith	
Michael Hunter	 Carolyn Vaughn	
Joe McComb		

That the foregoing ordinance was read for the second time and passed finally on this the \_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_, 2017, by the following vote:

Mayor	 Ben Molina	
Rudy Garza	 Lucy Rubio	
Paulette Guajardo	 Greg Smith	
Michael Hunter	 Carolyn Vaughn	
Joe McComb		

PASSED AND APPROVED on this the \_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_, 2017.

\_\_\_\_\_

ATTEST:

Rebecca Huerta City Secretary Mayor

\_\_\_\_\_