Ordinance to name and rebrand the Bayshore Park Development along Shoreline Blvd. generally from Furman Ave. to Cooper's Alley to "The Water's Edge", and to rename Sherrill Park as "Sherrill Veterans' Memorial Park"

Whereas, a special task force composed of representatives from the City Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee ("PRAC"), Convention and Visitors Bureau, Downtown Management District, Buc Days, and the CCMC4VA Committee Chair, and other park stakeholders began meeting in October 2016 to review plans for the Bayshore park development, to be located along Shoreline Blvd. generally from Furman Avenue to Cooper's Alley;

Whereas, the special task force presented recommendations to the PRAC for naming and marketing the park once construction is complete;

Whereas, the task force made a presentation to the Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee on Wednesday, March 8, 2017, and recommended that the PRAC pass a resolution recommending that the City Council name the Bayshore Park development as "The Water's Edge"; and rename Sherrill park to be "Sherrill Veterans' Memorial Park; and

Whereas, the Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee approved the recommendation unanimously;

Now, therefore, be it ordained by the City Council of the City of Corpus Christi, Texas:

Section 1. That the park development project formerly referred to as the Bayshore Park Development Project, and the Bayfront area generally bounded by Shoreline Blvd. from Furman Avenue to Cooper's Alley, are hereby to be officially known and renamed as "The Water's Edge". A map depicting the general are of the property to be known as "The Water's Edge" is shown on the attached Exhibit.

Section 2. That the park area formerly known as "Sherrill Park" is hereby officially known and renamed as "Sherrill Veterans' Memorial Park".

Section 3. The City Council does hereby waive any requirements applicable to the naming of areas of the City.

Section 4. This Ordinance takes effect on date of final approval by City Council.

		for the first time and p , 2017		
Mayor .		Ben Molina		
Rudy Garza		Lucy Rubio		
Paulette Guajardo		Greg Smith		
Michael Hunter		Carolyn Vaughn		
Joe McComb				
		for the second time at, 2017, by the		this
Mayor		Ben Molina		
Rudy Garza		Lucy Rubio		
Paulette Guajardo		Greg Smith		
Michael Hunter		Carolyn Vaughn		
Joe McComb				
PASSED AND APPF	ROVED, this the	day of	,	2017.
ATTEST:				
Rebecca Huerta City Secretary		Mayor		