Resolution approving the Director of the Corpus Christi Nueces County Public Health District's appointment of Dr. William Burgin, Jr. to serve as the Local Health Authority for the Public Health District for a two-year term beginning December 18, 2017 and ending December 18, 2019.

WHEREAS, the City of Corpus Christi and Nueces County, Texas by majority vote of each governing body established a Public Health District in accordance with Section 121.041 of the Texas Health and Safety Code; and

WHEREAS, the City of Corpus Christi and Nueces County appointed a Director of the Public Health District in accordance with Section 121.045 of the Texas Health and Safety Code; and

WHEREAS, the current Director of the Public Health District is not a physician and Section 121.045(d) of the Texas Health and Safety Code requires a non-physician director of the public health district to appoint a physician as the Local Health Authority for the district, subject to the approval of the members of the District; and

WHEREAS, Section 85.1(b)(2) of Title 25 of the Texas Administrative Code provides that a non-physician director of a public health district's appointment of the local health authority is subject to the approval of the governing body of the local public health district.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS:

Section 1. That the Director of the City of Corpus Christi and Nueces County Public Health District appointed Dr. William Burgin, Jr. to serve as the Local Health Authority for the Public Health District for a two-year term beginning December 18, 2017 and ending December 17, 2019 and this appointment is hereby approved.

Section 2. This Resolution shall take effect and be in full force immediately after its adoption by the City Council.

ATTEST:

THE CITY OF CORPUS CHRISTI

Rebecca Huerta City Secretary Joe McComb Mayor

Corpus Christi, Texas

_____of______, _____

The above resolution was passed by the following vote:

Joe McComb	
Rudy Garza	
Paulette Guajardo	
Michael Hunter	
Debbie Lindsey-Opel	
Ben Molina	
Lucy Rubio	
Greg Smith	
Carolyn Vaughn	