

BYLAWS AND RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE AIRPORT ZONING COMMISSION CITY OF CORPUS CHRISTI

Originally adopted on XX/XX/XXXX

ARTICLE I. ORGANIZATION

Section A. Membership; Ex-Officio Members

The membership of the Airport Zoning Commission ("Commission") consists of the same nine registered voters who are members of the City's duly appointed Planning Commission per Corpus Christi Code of Ordinance Section 2-131. The members of the Commission shall serve staggered terms of three years coterminous with the term each member serves on the Planning Commission. Any vacancy in an unexpired term on the Commission shall be filled for the remainder of the term, by appointment of the City Council, by the same planning commission member appointed to fill the vacancy on the Planning Commission per Corpus Christi City Charter Article V, Section 2. The Directors of the Corpus Christi International Airport and the Environmental and Strategic Initiatives Department, or their designees, shall serve as exofficio members of the Commission and be entitled to attend all meetings of the Commission but shall have no vote in matters acted upon by the Commission per Corpus Christi Code of Ordinance Section 2-132. Additionally, a naval representative of Naval Air Station Corpus Christi shall be entitled to attend all meetings of the Commission but shall have no vote in matters acted upon by the Commission per Corpus Christi Code of Ordinance Section 2-132.

Section B. Officers

The members of the Commission shall elect a chairperson and vice-chairperson from among its membership at the first regular meeting, who shall serve until August, 2018; the members shall then elect a new chairperson and vice-chairperson annually at the first meeting held each August per Corpus Christi Code of Ordinance Section 2-132. In addition to the chairperson and vice-chairperson, the Commission may provide for the selection of such other officers from among its membership as it deems proper. The Director of the Development Services Department, or the Director's designee, shall serve as the secretary for the Commission and provide administrative support (per City ordinance) but shall have no vote on matters acted upon by the Commission.

Section C. Duties of Officers

The chairperson shall preside at all meetings, maintain order, rule on points of procedure, and dispense with the business of the Commission in a just and orderly manner. The vice-chairperson shall preside in the absence of the chairperson and fulfill all the duties of the chairperson. Should the chairperson resign or that office become vacant for other reasons, the vice-chairperson shall act as chairperson until the next annual election of officers. In the event the chairperson and vice-chairperson are both absent or unavailable, the members shall select among themselves another member to fulfill all duties of the chairperson for that meeting.

ARTICLE II. MEETINGS; QUORUM

The Commission shall meet not less than once each month; however, the chairperson (or the vice-chairperson, in the absence of the chairperson) may cancel any monthly meeting for which no business of the Commission needs to be conducted per Corpus Christi Code of Ordinance Section 2-134. The regular meeting place of the Commission is the chambers of the City Council at City Hall, and the regular monthly meeting date is the first Wednesday coinciding with the same Wednesday on which the Planning Commission is scheduled to meet. The Commission does not have a regular meeting time but shall convene the Commission's meeting either immediately prior to or after the Planning Commission's same-day Wednesday meeting, such time selection to be determined by the chairperson. In the event the Planning Commission changes the specific day of the week for their regular meetings, the Commission may, but



is not obligated to, change the Commission's meeting day to correspond to the same day of the week as the planning commission's meetings. All meetings of the Commission shall be open to the public, unless closed in accordance with State law. In the event any special meeting is called, the City Manager shall be notified by the chairperson prior to the special meeting, noting the time and place of the meeting. Five appointed members of the Commission constitutes a quorum for the conduct of all meetings.

ARTICLE III. POWERS AND DUTIES OF COMMISSION

Section A. Powers of Commission

The Commission shall possess and exercise all the jurisdiction, powers and procedures as set out in the Airport Zoning Act ("Act"), Chapter 241, Texas Local Government Code, and by such other provisions of the Act as are applicable to the Commission. In making recommendations to the City Council, the Commission shall take into consideration the then-current joint land use study pertaining to the military flight training mission and operations of Naval Air Station Corpus Christi.

Section B. Duties of Commission

The Commission shall carry out the following duties:

- (1) Recommend the boundaries of the zones to be established, the regulations for these zones, and any amendment, repeal, or other change in a regulation prior to adoption by the City Council;
- (2) Develop a preliminary report and hold public hearings on the report before submitting a final report to City Council for adoption; and
- (3) Ensure that, prior to holding a public hearing, notice of the hearing is published in an official newspaper or a newspaper of general circulation in each political subdivision in which the airport hazard area or controlled compatible land use area to be zoned is located.

ARTICLE IV. AMENDMENTS

Adopted by yets of the Commission

These bylaws and rules of procedure may be amended. Any proposed amendment must be in writing and must be first introduced by motion at a regular meeting of the Commission and voted upon favorably before the proposed amendment may pass to a second reading and vote at the next following regular meeting. An amendment becomes final upon the date of final passage by the Commission.

Adopted by vote of the Commission.		
XXXXXXXXXXXX, Chairperson	 Date	