Resolution authorizing participation in cooperative purchasing program with the Minnesota Multistate Contracting Alliance for Pharmacy, for the purchase of pharmaceuticals for the City and the Corpus Christi-Nueces County Public Health District.

**WHEREAS,** in order to increase the efficiency and effectiveness of local governments, Chapter 271, Subchapter F of the Texas Government Code authorizes the City to enter into cooperative purchasing programs with local cooperative organizations of the State of Texas or another state:

**WHEREAS**, the State of Minnesota has created the Minnesota Multistate Contracting Alliance for Pharmacy (MMCAP), a cooperative purchasing program which allows state and local entities to procure healthcare and pharmaceutical products at a discounted rate;

**WHEREAS**, in order to procure health care and pharmaceutical products for the City and the Public Health District through MMCAP, the City must establish an account by executing an application for admission to MMCAP and execute the MMCAP Facility Agreement; and

**WHEREAS**, admission to MMCAP will be highly beneficial to the taxpayers through the anticipated savings and efficiencies to be realized.

## Be it resolved by the City Council of the City of Corpus Christi, Texas:

**ATTEST** 

**Section 1**. The City Manager, or designee, is authorized to execute all necessary documents with the Minnesota Multistate Contracting Alliance for Pharmacy in order to establish a new account and procure pharmaceutical products for the City and the Corpus Christi-Nueces County Public Health District. A copy of the MMCAP application and agreement are attached.

CITY OF CORPUS CHRISTI

| 7 <u>201.</u>                       |                     |  |
|-------------------------------------|---------------------|--|
| Rebecca L. Huerta<br>City Secretary | Joe McComb<br>Mayor |  |
| Corpus Christi, Texas               |                     |  |
| of                                  | ,                   |  |

| The above resolution was p | passed by the following | ng vote: |
|----------------------------|-------------------------|----------|
| Joe McComb                 |                         |          |
| Roland Barrera             |                         |          |
| Rudy Garza                 |                         |          |
| Paulette M. Guajardo       |                         |          |
| Gil Hernandez              |                         |          |
| Michael Hunter             |                         |          |
| Ben Molina                 |                         |          |
| Everett Roy                |                         |          |
| Greg Smith                 |                         |          |
|                            |                         |          |