

AGENDA MEMORANDUM Corpus Christi Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone #4 Meeting November 12, 2019

DATE:	November 8, 2019
<b>TO</b> :	Chairman and Honorable Board Members, Corpus Christi Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone #4
THROUGH:	Peter Zanoni, City Manager
FROM:	Arlene Medrano, Business Liaison arlenem@cctexas.com 361-826-3356
Election of vice-chairman and other officers as the Board considers appropriate	

# CAPTION:

Nomination and appointment of a vice-chairman and any other officers that the Board considers appropriate.

# SUMMARY:

The purpose of this item is to appoint a vice-chairman and any other officers that the Board considers appropriate.

# BACKGROUND AND FINDINGS:

Each year the City Council shall appoint one member of the TIRZ #4 board to serve as chairman for a term of one year that begins on January 1 of the following year. The appointment of the Chairman is on the November 12, 2019 City Council agenda.

The board of directors may elect a vice-chairman to preside in the absence of the chairman or when there is a vacancy in the office of chairman. The board may elect other officers as it considers appropriate.

Reinvestment Zones Number Two and Three have a chairman and a vice-chairman and no other officers. However, it is at the discretion of the board to appoint additional officers such as secretary or treasurer, if appropriate. The Board is supported administratively in these areas and so additional appointments to fill those officer positions is not necessary.

The board of directors of a reinvestment zone consists of at least five and not more than 15 members. Each taxing unit other than the municipality or county that designated the zone that levies taxes on real property in the zone may appoint one member of the board if the taxing unit has approved the payment of all or part of the tax increment

produced by the unit into the tax increment fund for the zone. A unit may waive its right to appoint a director. Members of the board are appointed for terms of two years.

The Board Composition is currently as follows (listed alphabetically):

1. Steve Banta Executive Director, USS Lexington Museum 2. Roland Barrera District 3 City Councilmember 3. Barbara Canales County Judge, Nueces County 4. Rudy Garza At-Large City Councilmember 5. Paulette Guajardo At-Large City Councilmember 6. Gil Hernandez **District 5 City Councilmember** 7. Michael Hunter At-Large City Councilmember 8. Joe McComb Mayor, City of Corpus Christi **District 2 City Councilmember** 9. Ben Molina 10. Everett Roy **District 1 City Councilmember** 11.Tom Schmid CEO, Texas State Aquarium 12. Greg Smith **District 4 City Councilmember** 13. Carolyn Vaughn County Commissioner Precinct 1, Nueces County 14. Vacant **Community Member** Del Mar College Appointee 15. Pending

# ALTERNATIVES:

The Board could decide not to elect any additional officers, but that is not recommended.

#### FINANCIAL IMPACT:

None.

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

Staff recommends election of a vice-chairman to preside over the TIRZ #4 Board meetings in the absence of the chairman.

#### LIST OF SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS:

None.