Ordinance amending Chapter 53 of the City Code to amend section 53-187 allowing the City Manager, Chief of Police or their designee(s) to issue parking placards to exempt executive city officials from paying parking fees for city owned, paid parking spaces while conducting official city business

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS:

SECTION 1. That Chapter 53, Traffic, Article VI, Standing and Parking, Division 4, Parking Meters, Section 57-187. Fee due for parking vehicles; exemptions of the Corpus Christi Code of Ordinances is amended by adding subsection (f) to read as follows:

(f) An owner of a vehicle is exempt from the payment of a fee for parking at a meter if the person displays a valid parking placard, permit or decal issued by the City Manager, Chief of Police or their designees for official city business.

SECTION 2. If for any reason any section, paragraph, subdivision, clause, phrase, word or provision of this ordinance shall be held invalid or unconstitutional by final judgment of a court of competent jurisdiction, it shall not affect any other section, paragraph, subdivision, clause, phrase, word or provision of this ordinance, for it is the definite intent of this City Council that every section, paragraph, subdivision, clause, phrase, word or provision hereof be given full force and effect for its purpose.

SECTION 3. Publication shall be made in the official publication of the City of Corpus Christi as required by the City Charter of the City of Corpus Christi.

SECTION 4. This ordinance shall go into effect immediately upon publication.

That the foregoing ordinance was read for the day of, 2020, by the	ne first time and passed to its second reading on this e following vote:
Joe McComb	Michael Hunter
Roland Barrera	Ben Molina
Rudy Garza	Everett Roy
Paulette M. Guajardo	Greg Smith
Gil Hernandez	
That the foregoing ordinance was read for the day of 2020, by the following versions are supplied to the following versions.	ne second time and passed finally on this the ote:
Joe McComb	Michael Hunter
Roland Barrera	Ben Molina
Rudy Garza	Everett Roy
Paulette M. Guajardo	Greg Smith
Gil Hernandez	
PASSED AND APPROVED on this the	day of, 2020.
ATTEST:	
Rebecca L. Huerta City Secretary	Joe McComb Mayor