Ordinance amending the Corpus Christi Code to codify the Municipal Court Committee

Whereas, the Municipal Court Committee has traditionally been established and appointed by the Mayor at the beginning of each council term.

Now therefore, be it Ordained by the City Council of the City of Corpus Christi, Texas:

Section 1. That Corpus Christi Code of Ordinances, Chapter 29, Municipal Courts, is amended to add Sec. 29-54 as follows:

Sec. 29-54 Municipal Court Committee.

- (a) The Municipal Court Committee will provide oversight responsibilities for Municipal Court Judicial Operations and monitoring judges (appointment, annual review and salary oversight). The Municipal Court Committee will consist of four council members appointed by the mayor at the beginning of each council term. The mayor shall appoint one of the council members as the chairperson. The mayor may change the membership of the Municipal Court Committee at any time. However, if a committee has not been appointed, then the duties of the Municipal Court Committee as described in this chapter shall be undertaken by the entire city council.
- (b) The Municipal Court Committee shall meet as needed to perform its duties.
 - (1) A majority of the members of the Municipal Court Committee shall constitute a quorum.
 - (2) The minutes of each meeting are to be prepared and sent to the committee members and approved at subsequent meetings.

Section 2. It is hereby declared to be the intention of the City that the sections, paragraphs, sentences, clauses, and phrases of this Ordinance are severable and, if any phrase, clause, sentence, paragraph, or section of this Ordinance shall be declared unconstitutional by the valid judgment or decree of any court of competent jurisdiction, such declaration shall not affect any of the remaining phrases, clauses, sentences, paragraphs, and sections of this Ordinance, since the same would not have been acted by the City without the incorporation into this Ordinance of any such unconstitutional phrase, clause, sentence, paragraph, or section.

Section 3. This ordinance takes effect upon passage.

Joe McComb	Michael Hunter
Roland Barrera	Ben Molina
Rudy Garza	Everett Roy
Paulette M. Guajardo	Greg Smith
Gil Hernandez	_
day of 2020, by the followin Joe McComb	or the second time and passed finally on this the g vote: Michael Hunter
Roland Barrera	Ben Molina
Rudy Garza	Everett Roy
·	·
Paulette M. Guajardo	·
Paulette M. Guajardo Gil Hernandez	·
Paulette M. Guajardo Gil Hernandez	Greg Smith
Paulette M. Guajardo Gil Hernandez PASSED AND APPROVED on this the _	Greg Smith