REINVESTMENT ZONE NO. 2 (ISLAND) BOARD

Three (3) vacancies with terms to 11-1-2021 appointed by the City Council. Appointment of Chairman for a term of one-year beginning January 1, 2021. (Historically, Council Members have been appointed to the board.)

Duties:

The Reinvestment Zone No. 2 (Island) Board shall make recommendations to the City Council concerning the administration of the zone. The Board shall prepare and adopt a project plan and reinvestment zone financing plan for the zone and submit such plans to the City Council for its approval in accordance with Section 311.011, Texas Tax Code. The Board shall exercise other powers and responsibilities with respect to the zone only to the extent expressly granted by the City Council by ordinance or resolution.

Composition

The Board shall consist of at least five and not more than fifteen (15) members. The members shall be appointed as follows: Pursuant to Sec. 311.009(a), Tax Code, the respective governing bodies of each taxing unit other than the City each may appoint one (1) member of the board. A taxing unit may waive its right to appoint a Director. The remaining members of the board are appointed by the City Council. The City Council shall have the right to appoint up to ten (10) members, and the board shall exceed fifteen (15) members if necessary for the City Council to make said ten (10) appointments. To be eligible for appointment an individual must be a qualified voter of the City or be at least 18 years of age or older and own real property in the zone. *Each year the governing body of the municipality or county that created the zone shall appoint one member of the board to serve as Chairman for a term of one-year that begins on January 1 of the following year.* The Board of Directors may elect a Vice-Chairman to preside in the absence of the Chairman or when there is a vacancy in the office of the Chairman. The board may elect other officers as it considers appropriate.

Member Size	Term Length	Term limit	
14	2	N/A	

				Appointing			
Name	Term	Appt. date	End date	Authority	Position	Status	Category
Rudy Garza	4	11/2/2019	11/1/2021	City Council		Resigned	City
Joe McComb	2	11/2/2019	11/1/2021	City Council		Term completed	City
Everett Roy	2	11/2/2019	11/1/2021	City Council		Term completed	City
Roland Barrera	2	11/2/2019	11/1/2021	City Council		Active	City
Paulette Guajardo	2	11/2/2019	11/1/2021	City Council		Active	City
Gil Hernandez	2	11/2/2019	11/1/2021	City Council		Active	City
Michael T. Hunter	2	4/12/2016	11/1/2021	City Council		Active	City
Ben Molina	2	11/2/2019	11/1/2021	City Council		Active	City
Greg Smith	2	11/2/2019	11/1/2021	City Council	Chair	Active	City
Brent Chesney	1	2/18/2020	11/1/2021	City Council		Active	Nueces County
Barbara Canales	2	11/2/2018	11/1/2022	Nueces County		Active	Nueces County
Jim Needham	1	1/31/2019	11/1/2022	Flour Bluff I.S.D.		Active	Flour Bluff I.S.D.
Sylvia A Tryon Oliver	1	9/26/2019	11/1/2022	Nueces County		Active	Nueces County Hospital District

				Appointing			
Name	Term	Appt. date	End date	Authority	Position	Status	Category
Mary Sherwood	1	9/8/2020	11/1/2022	Del Mar College		Active	Del Mar College