Ordinance appointing Mike Alaniz, Jacqueline Del Llano Chapa, Mark DeKoch, Gail G. Loeb, Julianna Siracusa Rivera, and David Walsh as full-time Municipal Judges of the Municipal Court of Record in the City of Corpus Christi, Texas; appointing Gail G. Loeb as the presiding judge; appointing Jerry L. Batek, Bill Bonilla, Kali Guttman, Christopher E. Matt, George Picha, and Todd A. Robinson, as part-time judges of the Municipal Court of Record in the City Of Corpus Christi; determining salary; providing a term of office; and declaring an effective date

**WHEREAS,** pursuant to Corpus Christi Code Sec. 29-4, the City Council shall appoint municipal judges, as deemed necessary for the benefit and conduct of the court. Each judge shall be appointed by the City Council and shall hold office for a two-year term coterminous with the term of the appointing City Council unless sooner removed or until the successor, if any, is appointed;

**WHEREAS,** the City Council shall by ordinance appoint its municipal judges pursuant to Texas Government Code §30.00006; and

**WHEREAS**, the City Council finds the following appointees meet the qualifications for Municipal Court judge pursuant to Corpus Christi Code and State law.

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS, THAT:

**SECTION 1.** That Mike Alaniz, Jacqueline Del Llano Chapa, Mark DeKoch, Gail G. Loeb, Julianna Siracusa Rivera, and David Walsh are appointed as Municipal Judges of the Municipal Court of Record in the City of Corpus Christi, Texas.

**SECTION 2.** That Gail G. Loeb is appointed as Presiding Judge of the Municipal Court of Record in the City of Corpus Christi, Texas.

**SECTION 3.** Gail G. Loeb shall receive the fixed salary of \$122,225.89. Jacqueline Del Llano Chapa shall receive the fixed salary of \$104,938.18. Mike James Alaniz shall receive the fixed salary of \$103,409.98. Julianna Siracusa Rivera shall receive the fixed salary of \$101,881.78. Mark DeKoch and David Walsh shall receive a fixed salary of \$100,000.

**SECTION 4.** That each person appointed as Municipal Judge of the Municipal Court of Record will not be entitled to a car allowance.

**SECTION 5.** That Jerry L. Batek, Bill Bonilla, Kali Guttman, Christopher E. Matt, George Picha, and Todd A. Robinson are appointed as Part-Time Judges of the Municipal Court of Record in the City of Corpus Christi, Texas.

**SECTION 6.** That Jerry L. Batek, Christopher E. Matt, and Todd A. Robinson shall receive an hourly rate of \$47.65 per hour. That Bill Bonilla shall receive an hourly rate of \$45.58 per hour. George Picha and Kali Guttman shall receive \$44.25 per hour.

**SECTION 7.** That each judge shall hold office for a term coterminous with the term of the appointing City Council unless sooner removed or until the successor, if any, is appointed.

**SECTION 8**. This ordinance constitutes an action by the City Council not to reappoint any and all judges not appointed herein.

**SECTION 9.** This ordinance takes effect upon passage on second reading.

That the foregoing ordinance was read for the first time and passed to its second reading on this	
the day of, 2021, by the followin	g vote:
Paulette M. Guajardo	John Martinez
Roland Barrera	Ben Molina
Gil Hernandez	Mike Pusley
Michael Hunter	Greg Smith
Billy Lerma	
That the foregoing ordinance was read for the second day of 2021, by the following vote:	I time and passed finally on this the
Paulette M. Guajardo	John Martinez
Roland Barrera	Ben Molina
Gil Hernandez	Mike Pusley
Michael Hunter	Greg Smith
Billy Lerma	
PASSED AND APPROVED on this the day o	f, 2021.
ATTEST:	
Rebecca Huerta City Secretary	Paulette M. Guajardo Mayor