

City of Corpus Christi

1201 Leopard Street Corpus Christi, TX 78401 cctexas.com

Meeting Minutes

City Council

Tuesday, January 12, 2021 10:00 AM **Council Chambers**

SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MEETING

Public Notice: Persons with disabilities who plan to attend this meeting and who may need auxiliary aids or services are requested to contact the City Secretary's office (at 361-826-3105) at least 48 hours in advance so that appropriate arrangements can be made.

This meeting may be held via videoconference call pursuant to Texas Government Code § 551.127. If this meeting is held via videoconference call or other remote method of meeting, then a member of this governmental body presiding over this meeting will be physically present at the location of this meeting unless this meeting is held pursuant to Texas Government Code § 551.125 due to an emergency or other public necessity pursuant to Texas Government Code § 551.045.

City Secretary Rebecca Huerta to call the meeting to order. Α.

City Secretary Rebecca Huerta called the meeting to order at 10:12 a.m.

City Secretary Rebecca L. Huerta called the roll and verified that a quorum of the City Council and the required Charter Officers were present to conduct the meeting.

Charter Officers: City Manager Peter Zanoni, City Attorney Miles K. Risley and City Secretary Rebecca L. Huerta.

- Present: 9 Mayor Paulette M. Guajardo, Council Member Roland Barrera, Council Member Gil Hernandez, Council Member Michael Hunter, Council Member Billy A. Lerma, Council Member John Martinez, Council Member Ben Molina, Council Member Mike Pusley, and Council Member Greg Smith
- В. Invocation to be given by The Most Reverend William Michael Mulvey, STL, DD, Bishop of Corpus Christi.

The Most Reverend William Michael Mulvey, STL, DD, Bishop of Corpus Christi gave the invocation.

C. Swearing-in Ceremony for New Mayor and City Council Members to be conducted by The Honorable Bobby Galvan, District Judge, 94th District Court, State of Texas.

The Honorable Bobby Galvan Presiding Judge, 94th District Court of Nueces

County, Texas, conducted the swearing-in ceremony for new Mayor Paulette M. Guajardo and City Council Members Michael Hunter, John Martinez, Mike Pusley, Billy Lerma, Ben Molina, Roland Barrera, Greg Smith and Gil Hernandez.

D. Incoming Mayor and Council Member Speeches

Mayor Guajardo and Council Members thanked their family, friends, and supporters for their assistance and support during the election process and thanked City staff for their work.

E. ADJOURNMENT

City Secretary Rebecca Huerta invited the public to a reception in the City Council Foyer area outside City Council Chambers.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:00 a.m.