

#### AGENDA MEMORANDUM

First Reading Ordinance - City Council Meeting of June 17, 2025 Second Reading Ordinance - City Council Meeting of June 24, 2025

**DATE:** June 6, 2025

**TO:** Mayor & Council

**FROM:** Council Member Everett Roy, Chairman

Municipal Court Committee

Rebecca Huerta, City Secretary RebeccaH@cctexas.com

(361) 826-3105

## Appointment of Municipal Court Judges

#### **CAPTION**:

Ordinance appointing Gabriel Rodriguez as Division 1 Judge, Jason Supplee as Division 2 Judge, David Walsh as Division 3 Judge, William Gregory "Bill" Bonilla as Division 4 Judge, and George Picha as Division 5 Judge of the Municipal Court; appointing Christopher E. Matt as part-time judge #1, Douglas K. DeFratus as part-time judge #2, William Holt Feemster as part-time judge #3, Mara Schecter as part-time judge #4, Mario A. Olivarez as part-time judge #5, Arnold McAdams as part-time judge #6, and Robert Reyna as part-time judge #7 of the Municipal Court; determining salary; providing a two year term of office; and declaring an effective date

#### **SUMMARY:**

Municipal Court judges are appointed by the City Council, per the recommendation of the Municipal Court Committee, which consists of four City Council members: Chairman Everett Roy, Eric Cantu, Gil Hernandez, and Carolyn Vaughn. A panel, led by Presiding Judge Jackie Chapa, interviewed the part-time judge applicants on May 16. The Municipal Court Committee conducted interviews for full-time judges on June 6. The committee recommends the reappointments of full-time judges David Walsh, Bill Bonilla, and George Picha. and part-time judges Christopher Matt, Douglas DeFratus, William Holt Feemster, and Mario Olivarez. The committee recommends the new appointments of full-time judges Gabriel Rodriguez and Jason Supplee, and part-time judges Mara Schecter and Arnold McAdams.

#### **BACKGROUND AND FINDINGS:**

Per Sec. 29-54 of the city code, the Municipal Court Committee will provide oversight responsibilities for municipal court judicial operations and monitoring judges (appointment, annual review and salary oversight). The municipal court committee consists of four (4) council members appointed by the mayor at the beginning of each council term. The mayor appoints

one (1) of the council members as the chairperson. Municipal Court judges serve two-year terms.

### **ALTERNATIVES**:

The Council could choose to amend the ordinance.

### **FISCAL IMPACT**:

### **Funding Detail:**

Fund:

Organization/Activity:

Mission Element:

Project # (CIP Only):

Account:

# **RECOMMENDATION:**

The Municipal Court Committee recommends approval of the ordinance as presented.

# **SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS:**

Ordinance